Governor El-Rufai gives political appointees till April 30th to resign

Nasir El-Rufai (the Kaduna State Governor), has given political appointees till April 30, 2019, to resign from office.

Samuel Aruwan, who is the spokesman for the governor revealed this to enable the governor to start selecting the members of his new cabinet for his second term in the office which commences on May 29.

The directive stated that, each resignation notice must be submitted along with a handover note, signed by the political appointee on behalf of the MDA or office to which he or she had been appointed, and should be addressed to the Principal Private Secretary to the governor.

This directive affects the following: Commissioners in the State Executive Council, All Permanent Secretaries, Special Advisers, Directors-General, Executive Secretaries, Managing Directors, General Managers and other Heads of Agencies, others are  Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistants and Technical Assistants to the Governor, other than the Kashim Ibrahim Fellows.

Those excluded from this directive include full-time Commissioners of certain State Executive bodies who retain their tenured appointments in the following agencies: Fiscal Responsibility Commission, Civil Service Commission, Judicial Service Commission, Assembly Service Commission, the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM), the Peace Commission, public Procurement Authority and Water Regulatory Authority.

The governor appreciated all political appointees for their efforts, contributions and service to the state during his first term and as he constitutes the team that will assist him in his second term.

The statement also revealed that the governor will exercise his constitutional prerogative to decide on re-appointments while giving the Kaduna State Ministry of Finance  enough time to reconcile any liabilities as well as compute severance payments.

“Due to recent adjustments in roles within the government, the occupants of and recent appointees into the following offices are also exempted from the directive to resign, Commissioner of Finance, Principal Private Secretary, Accountant-General, Special Adviser, Intergovernmental Relations, Managing Director, Kaduna Markets Development Company,  Managing Director, Kaduna Investment and Finance Company, and Any other political appointee sworn-in or appointed to their current role within the last six months”.

Read more interesting news/gist → Here!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.